Grad Nite

I talked a bit about the project I took on for Grad Nite.  I thought I would expand on that since it will be taking up a bunch of my “artistic” time from now until June 8th.  In an attempt to be part of my daughters last year in High School  I decided to get involved on the Grad Nite Committee.  These are the people who fundraise, plan and organize everything involved in making the Grad Nite happen.  You may be asking what is Grad Nite?  After the graduation ceremony the students then get to hang out from 9:00 pm to 5:00 am in the school gym and other areas.   BTW they are locked in!   These have all been transformed into some fabulous getaway that resembles nothing like the gym that they have spent their last 4 years in at sporting events and assemblies.  Well I jumped in with both feet, up passed my neck when I volunteered for being the designer of the whole theme.  I assumed that with 575ish graduates you would have more than a hand full of parents wanting to jump in with me.  To this point we do not have a construction chair so the leadership of coordinating the troops falls to me.  Don’t get me wrong-I am enjoying the process. Meeting some of the parents that my daughter has gone to school with is great.  I have some wonderful parents who Are up to their necks with me.  I do believe in the end it will be the fabulous vision I have in my head……Bad photo- these are 2 seperae lieces that will be changed!

So to this point we have loaded in all of the 4′ X 8′ panels that have been used in previous years into a large warehouse.  At this huge warehouse 4 local high schools are all doing the same thing we are, just with another theme.  Let me add here that the reason we all do this is so we can provide a safe and alcohol free environment for the graduates to spend what may be the last night they will see many of their classmates ever again.  They have made it this far we want them to go on into the future and become productive members of the population.

I would like to post some pictures that will give you an idea of where we are coming from and where we are going.  These are a few of the before.  I will have to post some of the after as they become available.  Stay tuned!  K

1 Comment

Filed under Crafting, Grad nite

One response to “Grad Nite

  1. Thanks for helping keeping our kids alive K.
    This looks like it is going to be awesome.
    I am looking forward to the final results on this, what fun.

Leave a Reply

