I Hate Doing the Socks!

It’s no secret at my house. When doing the laundry, I hate doing the socks! Right now as I am writing this there is a pile on my bed. Clean? Yes. There are 5 people living here, with 2 feet each. Makes 10 socks each day, that’s a lot. Then there are those random ones you can find throughout the house. Thank God it’s only socks.

I have a feeling my hostility toward sorting the socks comes from needing glasses now. The poor lighting in my room doesn’t help. Oh yeah, I forgot to mention, more than 3/4 of the socks are black.

So, when I can’t take the mess anymore, I ask for help in a grouchy way. Left to their own devices, everyone picks out their pair for the day. :/    A few weeks ago, I asked Nikki to do them around noonish. It was now 10 or 11…pm, tired and tired of excuses. When saying goodnight, I mentioned to her that she had all day and didn’t do them. She got out of bed and did them. I didn’t know she did until she came out to tell me. I felt kinda bad, but grateful. After saying good night again, she kept asking when I was going to bed. Finally, I went to bed…

Aww…(*snif*)

I ❤ U too Nikki.

Love, Tina aka Mom

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “I Hate Doing the Socks!

  1. that is so true. there are five in my house too and I often have to ask the boys to sort their own sock and undies. Your daughter must have felt a little bad about taking so long, and it is so sweet what she did for you. 🙂 ❤

    • Hi Mother, B & C Lover,
      Wow, great! It’s nice when you get help.

      I know, I think she did feel a little bad too. She is a little sweetie….sometimes…mostly.
      Just writing about it got me all misty-eyed.

      Tina

  2. marni

    3 times a year I organize my sock drawer. They looks so pretty all color coordinated and rolled into neat little balls, I hate to mess them up so I just wear sandals as much as possible. Nobody notices my mismatched socks if I wear long pants.

    • You’ve done it the easy way, Marni! Can you use your Mad Awesome Skills to organize us in this sea of all black socks?
      I can only dream of having drawers like yours right now.
      Tina

  3. That’s a lot of sock. I don’t blame you for being in sock-over-load. Geeze, you know I’d never thought of the numbers of socks a big family uses a day.
    I don’t know when you find time to do crafts. Taking care of a family and household that size would be a 24/7 job. I admire you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

