Daily Archives: March 14, 2010

Making Tiles

I had a lot of fun making these tiles! Only one(I hope) problem, they are all the same color. I forgot to change it up a bit. The tiles that are darker are from a while back, maybe even last year. The whole picture does look rather orange-y, but that’s how they look, they match my table! Maybe I should cover the whole tabletop with tiles. It would start some conversations, as if we needed help.

These tiles are made from white Sculpey, the cheap stuff. I had a bunch leftover from doing crafts in my kids’ classes. There I go drifting off subject… Anyway, I dabbed on a few different colors of alcohol inks on the baked pieces and ta da! The darker ones are black clay with the pearl ex powders rubbed on before baking. The black ones are cool, but not as much fun as getting all messy with the inks. While I’m at it maybe throw some ink on some other projects too. I gotta do more of these!  – T

5 Comments

Filed under Clay, pictures